Show-and-sell – ceramics and objects

Véronique MAURY – France

It was at a Nodate野 点 (an open air tea ceremony) that I first crossed paths with Véronique. Her ceramics, which accompanied our meals in the Vercors natural park, instantly convinced me that my project could not go ahead without them. From there, a discussion on the pottery and the form followed(/will follow) to develop these unique pieces with the irregular grey enamel evoking the moon’s energy, that I love so much. I made it my favourite plate at home, like a bowl that will follow me everywhere, in all times and places.

Patricia VIELJEUX – France

Patricia seems to indulge a little more in each of her pieces. Discreet and silent in personality, she’s intriguing. There is a secret language to her work…written more than spoken. Her forms are symbols and their subjects are profound. There are wines that give multiple readings and Patricia’s ceramics do this too. Each pattern gives light to a spiritual dimension and becomes beautiful when simply applied to one of her plates. This is the magic of this great ceramic artist who inspires so many others, bringing out the work of the chef simply by being present.

Manon CLOUZEAU – France

Manon, like the heroine of a novel, captures your attention as soon as you meet her. At her core, she enchants the world of the bowl with her softness and her poetic outlook on the world. For my sakés, I couldn’t find a better setting. The magic of tea populates her world and she is without a doubt one of my most Japanese ceramic artists. I can spend hours contemplating her bowls, and I taste differently after doing so. She is who inspired the saké ceremony that I am developing.

Helena BRIZIDO – Portugal

I had made a vow to only choose French ceramic artists and then I met Helena…In this sublime Japanese restaurant at the crossroads of Portugese flavours, MIDORI in Sintra, the chef gave me a gift: he gave me the name of his ceramicist. I was literally in shock. Who is it? Who made this bowl, and this plate, and this cup…I must know…In her workshop in Estoril, Helena greets me and I am happy. She agrees to make me some pieces and send them to me in Paris. They are works of art, there is the foam of the sea, the mother-of-pearl shells, the skin of a ray, the chalk of the cliffs and the sand of the beaches…all in a bowl.

Dorothée PICARD – France

Dorothy was love at first sight for me. From her porcelain moulded on ancient vegetables to her cups, plates and vases in chamotte earth, contrasting the rough against the crystalline interior glaze, I found everything was to my taste. You can sense the energy of Earth, Fire, Water and Metal in her work; a glint of iron oxide is sometimes used, giving a sparkle to the piece all while remaining modest, like the creator, a beautiful person of great talent.

Barbara LORMELLE – France

She works with porcelain beautifully, patiently bringing sculpted landscapes to life in the material. From the skies of Hokusai to the alleys of Tokyo, her teacups invite you to escape. Barbara also has an immense talent for enamelling her forms with clean lines. The colours seem to be produced by nature itself, reminding me of nights in Hiroshige. Like the great wines that I have had to chance to taste, touching her work transports you. There is precision, genuine beauty and a soul behind each piece produced.

Anne DRUGEON – France

Here is a young ceramist that we must follow closely…Anna has the freshness of young spring roots and this is felt in her work. Attracted by her sketches on porcelain (acquired on one of her trips to Japan), I also noticed her style of enamelling which reminded me of a ceramic artist from Takayama, whom I really like. So I placed an order for some cups and the result exceeded all my expectations. She also makes delicate and unique pieces of jewellery, sometimes incorporating gold.

0

Expo vente – céramiques & objets

Anne DRUGEON – France

Voilà une jeune céramiste qu’il faudra suivre de près… Anne a la fraicheur des jeunes pousses de printemps et cela se ressent dans son travail. Séduite par ses croquis sur porcelaine (issus de l’un de ses voyages au Japon), j’ai aussi remarqué son style d’émaillage qui m’a rappelé un céramiste de Takayama, que j’aime beaucoup. Je lui ai donc passé une commande pour des coupelles et le résultat a dépassé toutes mes attentes. Elle fabrique également des bijoux, des pièces uniques délicates et élégantes où l’or s’invite parfois.

Barbara LORMELLE – France

Elle travaille la porcelaine admirablement, donnant vie à des paysages patiemment sculptés dans la matière.  Des ciels d’Hokusai aux ruelles de Tokyo, ses tasses à thé vous invite à l’évasion. Barbara a également un immense talent pour émailler ses formes aux lignes épurées. Les teintes semblent produites par la nature elle-même, m’évoquant les nuits d’Hiroshige. A l’image des grands vins que j’ai eu la chance de déguster, toucher son travail vous transporte. Il y a de la justesse, une beauté sincère et une âme derrière chaque pièce produite.

Dorothée PICARD – France

Dorothée fut pour moi un coup de cœur immédiat. De ses porcelaines moulées sur des légumes anciens à ses coupelles, assiettes et vases en terre chamottée, contraste du rugueux et d’un émail intérieur cristallin, je trouvais tout à mon goût. On ressent l ’énergie de la Terre, du Feu, de l’Eau et du Métal dans son travail ; un reflet d’oxyde de fer s’invite parfois donnant de l’éclat à l’œuvre tout en humilité, à l’image de la créatrice, une belle personne de grand talent.

Helena BRIZIDO – Portugal

J’avais fait vœu de ne choisir que des céramistes français et puis j’ai rencontré Helena… Dans ce sublime restaurant japonais à la croisée des saveurs portugaises, MIDORI à Sintra, le chef me fait ce cadeau :  il me donne le nom de sa céramiste. Je suis littéralement sous le choc. Qui est-ce? Qui a fait ce bol, et cette assiette, et cette coupelle…. Je dois savoir… Dans son atelier d’Estoril, Helena me reçoit et je suis heureuse. Elle accepte de me faire quelques pièces et me les expédiera à Paris.  Ce sont des œuvres d’art, il y a l’écume de la mer, la nacre des coquillages, la peau d’une raie, la craie des falaises et le sable des plages… tout cela dans un bol.

Manon CLOUZEAU – France

Manon, telle une héroïne de roman capte votre attention dès que vous la croisez. A la source de sa noble matière elle enchante l’univers du bol de part sa douceur et son poétique regard sur le monde. Pour mes sakés, je ne pouvais trouver meilleur écrin. La magie du thé peuple son univers et elle est sans doute l’une de mes céramistes les plus japonistes. Je peux rester des heures à contempler ses bols, et je déguste différemment après cela. La cérémonie du saké que j’élabore, c’est elle qui me l’a inspirée.

Patricia VIELJEUX – France

Patricia semble se livre un peu plus dans chacune de ses œuvres. Personnage discret et silencieux, elle intrigue. Il y a comme un langage secret dans son travail… écrit plus qu’oral. Ses formes sont symboles et ses matières sont profondes. Il y a des vins qui offrent plusieurs lectures, les céramiques de Patricia sont ainsi. Une dimension spirituelle s’échappe de chaque motif et le met devient beau quand il est simplement posé sur ses assiettes. C’est là la magie de cette grande céramiste qui en inspire tant d’autres, sublimer le travail du cuisinier par sa simple présence.

Véronique MAURY – France

C’est à l’occasion d’un Nodate  野点 (cérémonie du thé en plein air) que j’ai croisé Véronique pour la première fois. Ses céramiques, qui accompagnaient nos repas dans le parc naturel du Vercors, m’ont instantanément convaincue que mon projet ne pourrait se faire sans elles. De là, un dialogue sur la terre, la forme suivra pour élaborer ces pièces uniques à l’émail gris irrégulier que j’aime tant, et qui n’est pas sans évoquer l’énergie de la lune.
J’en ai fait mon assiette favorite à la maison, comme une écuelle qui me suivrait partout et en toute circonstance.

0